Interview With The Vampire

Interview With The Vampire

From #1 New York Times bestselling author Anne Rice, this sensuously written spellbinding classic remains 'the most successful vampire story since Bram Stoker's Dracula' (The Times) In a darkened room a young man sits telling the macabre ...

Author: Anne Rice

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN: 9780751561623

Category: Fiction

Page: 320

View: 229

From #1 New York Times bestselling author Anne Rice, this sensuously written spellbinding classic remains 'the most successful vampire story since Bram Stoker's Dracula' (The Times) In a darkened room a young man sits telling the macabre and eerie story of his life - the story of a vampire, gifted with eternal life, cursed with an exquisite craving for human blood. Anne Rice's compulsively readable novel is arguably the most celebrated work of vampire fiction since Bram Stoker's Dracula was published in 1897. When Interview with the Vampire was originally published the Washington Post said it was: called Interview with the Vampire a 'thrilling, strikingly original work of the imagination . . . sometimes horrible, sometimes beautiful, always unforgettable'. Now, more than forty years since its release, Anne Rice's masterpiece is more beloved than ever.
Categories: Fiction

Interview with the Vampire

Interview with the Vampire

Hypnotic, shocking, and chillingly sensual, this is a novel of mesmerizing beauty and astonishing force—a story of danger and flight, of love and loss, of suspense and resolution, and of the extraordinary power of the senses.

Author: Anne Rice

Publisher: Ballantine Books

ISBN: 9780307575852

Category: Fiction

Page: 352

View: 145

The spellbinding classic that started it all, from the #1 New York Times bestselling author “A magnificent, compulsively readable thriller . . . Rice begins where Bram Stoker and the Hollywood versions leave off and penetrates directly to the true fascination of the myth—the education of the vampire.”—Chicago Tribune Here are the confessions of a vampire. Hypnotic, shocking, and chillingly sensual, this is a novel of mesmerizing beauty and astonishing force—a story of danger and flight, of love and loss, of suspense and resolution, and of the extraordinary power of the senses. It is a novel only Anne Rice could write.
Categories: Fiction

Interview with the Vampire Claudia s Story

Interview with the Vampire  Claudia s Story

A dark and beautiful graphic novel adaptation of a cult classic Anne Rice. ANNE RICE WITH THE INTERVIEW VAMPIRE Claudia's Story ART AND ADAPTATION BY ASHLEY MARIE WITTER headline Text copyright © 2012 Anne O'Brien Rice and The Stanley.

Author: Anne Rice

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN: 9781472200693

Category: Comics & Graphic Novels

Page: 300

View: 319

'The most successful vampire story since Bram Stoker's DRACULA' The Times on Anne Rice's INTERVIEW WITH THE VAMPIRE Ashley Marie Witter's richly illustrated adaptation of Anne Rice's INTERVIEW WITH THE VAMPIRE, as told through the eyes of Claudia. A stunning graphic novel, sure to appeal to fans of Angela Carter and Neil Gaiman's SANDMAN. Claudia was just a little girl when she was turned by the vampire Lestat. Though she spends many years of happiness with her two vampire fathers, Claudia gradually grows discontent with their insistence upon treating her like a little girl, even though she has lived as long as any mortal man. And her lust to kill is certainly no less than theirs... What readers are saying about INTERVIEW WITH THE VAMPIRE: CLAUDIA'S STORY: 'An absolute must-read for lovers of the Vampire Chronicles. The artwork is quite beautiful and totally atmospheric. This has clearly been lovingly crafted' 'Wonderful illustrations. An easy read that encapsulates the original story perfectly' 'Absolutely beautiful graphic novel telling a story that I know and love'
Categories: Comics & Graphic Novels

The Gothic World of Anne Rice

The Gothic World of Anne Rice

Anne Rice's Interview with the Vampire : Novel Versus Film Diana C. Reep , Joseph F. Ceccio , William A. Francis Interview with the Vampire was Anne Rice's first novel , marking the beginning of her successful career as a modern gothic ...

Author: Gary Hoppenstand

Publisher: Popular Press

ISBN: 087972708X

Category: Fiction

Page: 261

View: 190

Such readers find allusions in Rice's work to that of Horace Walpole's The Castle of Otranto, to Ann Radcliffe's gothic romances, such as The Mysteries of Udolpho, and to Bram Stoker's Dracula, as do such present-day authors as Clive Barker, Robert R. McCammon, and Stephen King.
Categories: Fiction

The Greenwood Encyclopedia of Science Fiction and Fantasy

The Greenwood Encyclopedia of Science Fiction and Fantasy

1094 Interview with the Vampire by Anne Rice ( 1976 ) Rice's novel mixes family sagas and historical , supernatural horror , encouraging moral and philosophical speculation . Her vampires are glamorous , amoral aesthetes lacking a ...

Author: Gary Westfahl

Publisher: Greenwood Publishing Group

ISBN: 0313329532

Category: Fantasy fiction, American

Page: 1395

View: 389

A comprehensive three-volume reference work offers six hundred entries, with the first two volumes covering themes and the third volume exploring two hundred classic works in literature, television, and film.
Categories: Fantasy fiction, American

Blood Read

Blood Read

By the end of Interview with the Vampire , the absence that was supposed to guarantee the success of Rice's radical gender alternative has assured its dissolution . With their androgyny in the first place anchored in their hunger for a ...

Author: Joan Gordon

Publisher: University of Pennsylvania Press

ISBN: 0812216288

Category: Literary Criticism

Page: 264

View: 743

"Blood Read is a fresh look at an old form, offering lively, lucid insights into the contemporary explosion of vampire fiction. Nothing else like it exists. This book should set the terms for discussion about vampires for some time to come."--Brian Attebery, Idaho State University
Categories: Literary Criticism

The Blood is the Life

The Blood is the Life

According to any narrative code familiar to readers , the title Interview with the Vampire indicates that they will read an interview , a question - andanswer session between an interlocutor and a subject .

Author: Leonard G. Heldreth

Publisher: Popular Press

ISBN: 0879728035

Category: Literary Criticism

Page: 275

View: 937

The essays in this volume use a humanistic viewpoint to explore the evolution and significance of the vampire in literature from the Romantic era to the millennium."--BOOK JACKET.
Categories: Literary Criticism

New York Magazine

New York Magazine

But if you don't have a thing about vampires — if you're a wine drinker — you may find Interview With the Vampire, an adaptation of Rice's first vamp book, exceptionally boring, parochial, and remote. This spectacular but interminable ...

Author:

Publisher:

ISBN:

Category:

Page: 144

View: 444

New York magazine was born in 1968 after a run as an insert of the New York Herald Tribune and quickly made a place for itself as the trusted resource for readers across the country. With award-winning writing and photography covering everything from politics and food to theater and fashion, the magazine's consistent mission has been to reflect back to its audience the energy and excitement of the city itself, while celebrating New York as both a place and an idea.
Categories:

The Lure of the Vampire

The Lure of the Vampire

Yet a year before the publication of Anne Rice's first chronicle , Interview With the Vampire ( 1976 ) , Alain Silver and James Ursini offered a landmark account of a group of sympathetic male vampires whose roots go back to Lord ...

Author: Milly Williamson

Publisher: Wallflower Press

ISBN: 1904764401

Category: Performing Arts

Page: 213

View: 120

This title explores the enduring myth of Dracula and vampires and just why it has remained so popular for so long.
Categories: Performing Arts

Goth

Goth

And as the earliest of the contemporary novels we're discussing , predating the rise of goth subculture by several years , Interview with the Vampire serves as a bridge between earlier generations of postwar southern gothic writers and ...

Author: Lauren M. E. Goodlad

Publisher: Duke University Press

ISBN: 0822339218

Category: Social Science

Page: 442

View: 650

An ethnography of a postpunk subculture.
Categories: Social Science